Your chance to kickstart your startup career

Think you could be the next Steve Jobs?

Have you heard about SyncNorwich and SyncConf?  If not, you should look us up and start getting involved.  Maybe it could lead to a job working for a local company, or your future career as a tech entrepreneur!  Read on and you will find out how this could be a reality.

SyncNorwich is the Norwich based Tech and Startup community.   We meetup every month to have a beer and hear from awesome local, national and international speakers.  Topics covered include software development, startups, investing, entrepreneurism, developing ideas and much more.  The community has grown from Zero to 400+ members in 6 months.  It is a prime opportunity to learn, network and get inspired every month.  Thanks to some amazing local sponsors, all our events are free including a lot of the beer!  We’d like to increase the number of students attending our events, so it would be great to see you there.

SyncNorwich - Lightning Talk by Rich Burton, Hacker and Entrepreneur
SyncNorwich – Lightning Talk by Rich Burton, Hacker and Entrepreneur

But it does not stop there…..

SyncConf - One day Agile and Tech Conference in Norwich!
SyncConf – One day Agile and Tech Conference in Norwich!

SyncNorwich presents to you SyncConf 2013, a one-day Agile and Tech Conference in Norwich. Syncing local and international speakers, ideas and investors.  We have some excellent speakers from the international Agile and Tech community.  The Agile Software Development track is a one day master class from some of the leading Agile experts in UK.  The Tech track covers some interesting topics, such as Big Data, NoSQL, Graph databases, Contiguous Integration, Location API’s and more.  We have speakers, from Guardian, Nokia, Alertme, the Founder of Multimap.com (remember them?), and more!

Even better, we have a special Student rate of £25, which is cheap as chips.

To get your ticket go to http://syncconf.com/

Now it really gets interesting…

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dragons’_Den_(UK)

OK, so you think you could be the next Steve Jobs?  Well, all conference profits will be invested in a local startup, here in Norwich.  Yes, that could be you.  Do you have a great idea?  If yes, we will be holding a future Dragons Den style SyncNorwich event where you can pitch for the cash.  If you win, you get the cash, simple as that.  What’s the catch?  We will ask you to hand it back if you become profitable one day.  How much will it be?  It could be between £5,000 to £10,000.  The more tickets we sell the closer we will get to £10,000.  So help us promote the event, so we can make the biggest impact together.

So come along to SyncNorwich, get your SyncConf ticket, get thinking about your idea, its your future.

Or just come along for a beer and hotdog!

SyncNorwich - BBQ & Beer (Jon Witte of Wiggly-Amps)
SyncNorwich – BBQ & Beer (Jon Witte of Wiggly-Amps)

About me:

I was asked to give a few details about myself for the Norwich Business School blog.

My name is John Fagan.  I got involved in founding SyncNorwich simply because I like meeting like minded people & like bringing interesting people (speakers) to present to the group.  I am also passionate about Norfolk (after reluctantly moving here in 2005).  I think the region has a lot to offer.
It would be amazing if we could form our own “tech hub”, that is the goal!

I started my “career” working in factories and flipping burgers at Little Chef (after leaving school with 3 GCSE’s).  When I was 23 yrs old I got a temp job doing data entry (through a friend of my fathers) for a cartographic project.
This was really the turning point in my life.
My new boss was amazingly trustworthy, even though I had zero tech skills (I have made plenty of highly embarrassing mistakes).  This opportunity triggered some professional ambition in me, something I did not realise I had.
One thing led to another and I ended up going to Kingston Uni and gaining a 1st Class Honours degree in GIS.  My professional career really started when I was 27 yrs old when I landed my dream job at a hot new internet startup (at the time) called Multimap.com.
I started the job as a junior software engineer in July 2000, 4 months after the “dotcom bubble” officially burst.  Again, my new boss was amazingly trustworthy, again I made plenty of mistakes, including deleting the entire customer database!  Multimap was quite a ride, I even ended up bootstrapping Multimap Australia.
It all came to a natural end, when we were eventually acquired by Microsoft in late 2007 for $50M USD.  I then went on to work for Microsoft for 2 years, and now work as a Software Engineering Manager at hot new Swiss startup called Axon Active AG.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Barry J Fagan says:

    Very good John and what is good its personal – too much technical jargon can put people off because they may think its above them. With the free beer should also net a couple of drunks and may even change their lives!!!

    1. kirstietostevin says:

      As much as the Sync Norwich conference looks exciting – and I think a lot of NBS students should get excited about it too – the most interesting part of this article, for me, was the end. I found the personal biography really inspiring. Proves just how much you can get done with some motivation and a clear business head!

Leave a Reply

