Academic Q&A: Nick Yip and Peter Schmidt-Hansen

Nick YipTo continue our popular Question and Answer blog series we have two brand new interviews to share from the people here at Norwich Business School. Nick Yip is a Lecturer in Marketing with a background in management and marketing within the service industry. Peter Schmidt-Hansen is the course director and lecturer in brand leadership with a diverse background – since training as an engineer he has worked as a manufacturing manager, marketing manager, strategic planner and managing director within a number of international packaging groups.

Peter Schmidt-Hansen1.     What would your super power be?
Nick: Mind reading

Peter: I’d love to say reading people’s minds or being able to see into the future, but that would probably be rather scary so I’ll settle for making a cup of tea appear when I click my fingers.

2.     What do you like about your job?
Nick: Students

Peter: Being surrounded by bright young people. Working at a university is wonderful because there are always people with creative ideas. Most undergraduates haven’t developed the cynicism that often comes with age. They’re more likely to say ‘Why not?’ than ‘Why?’

3.     How do you relax?
Nick: Movies or television

Peter: Most of my working day is spent indoors so I love to get outside – going for a walk in the countryside with a big sky overhead is a real antidote to the working day.

4.     What is your favorite place on campus?
Nick: The lake

Peter: The NBS Local Support Office – the cakes are brilliant – oh, and the people are quite nice too!

5.     Who would play you in the film of your life?
NickNick: Bill PullmanPeter

Peter: I’d like to say Viggo Mortensen, but it’s probably more likely to be the love child of Brian Blessed and Jo Brand (which is rather nice because they’re both great).

6.     Which words do you most overuse?
Nick: Basically

Peter: ‘Yes’. It’s always lovely to have it said to you, so I say it to others…..but it does get me into trouble sometimes.

7.     What is your favorite book?
Nick: Letter to Daniel

Peter: Where do I start? There are so many. When I was seven it was Enid Blyton’s Shadow the Sheepdog. When I was 13 it was any of the Sherlock Holmes stories. In my teens I remember my mum giving me A Story like the Wind by Laurens van der Post – that had a big impact on me and drew me to Africa. I love David Mitchell’s books such as Cloud Atlas and for travel writing look no further than Tim Moore.

8.     What is the most important lesson life has taught you?
Nick: Never assume

Peter: Treat people like you want to be treated.

See more of our Academic Q&A series here.

Leave a Reply

