My Corporate Strategy Internship – ŠKODA

IMG_7677My name is Aneta Geistova and I am currently in my third year of studying BSc. International Business and Management at UEA, London. During my second year, I was searching for a valuable summer internship that could give me a head start of experience in my given field of study. As the university holds several networking/career events, I got in touch with one of the representatives from the company attending one of these events and thus send my CV through to the company I wanted to work for. After the whole application process and several interviews, I was welcomed to the department of Corporate Strategy in ŠKODA, this summer.

Being an intern at ŠKODA AUTO for 2 months, was an extremely enriching experience.  I was mainly working for the Corporate Strategy department, with a couple of weeks of experience in the Global Strategy – India department as well. At the beginning of my internship each of the interns received a specific area they would focus on, during our stay. The projects I was given to be mainly involved in were related to the analysis of sales, image, brand know-how, aftersales and competitor analysis.  The projects usually required very good teamwork, delegation of tasks between members, presentation skills and professional cooperation with other interns and employees on specific projects.

970313_539786502754437_529200511_nOne of the most interesting projects I worked on with my team was; competitor analysis at a European and global level. This included sales analysis, comparing pricing of every model, media analysis and financial positioning. Once our content got approved we were given the freedom to research and produce an evolution of the competitor’s brand strategy, key core markets and financials. It was interesting to have had the opportunity to dive into various areas of strategy. The diversity of the tasks allowed us to be fully focused and interested in the topics we had to analyse and present. It was expected of us, that we would produce professional presentations, using our creativity to an extent and find ways of presenting the given task in the most useful, efficient and clear way.

Once I became more familiar with the expectations, tasks such as investigating regional analysis regarding sales, production and dealer network became more frequent. Tasks varied immensely, I was further on asked to create a detailed presentation on the current political and economical situation in the Eurozone; specifically commenting on the euro mood, bailout funds and sum up with a “quo vadis Eurozone” headline.

563300_539786492754438_59888617_nI now look back at a really challenging yet interesting and stimulating
experience, where I had the opportunity to look at topics beyond our expectations. I am really thrilled to have had this opportunity at such an early stage in my career, and am happy to have been given an insight into the corporate strategy department of one of the worlds longest-standing automobile manufacturers and as a result I will be taking back a lot of valuable experience and great memories.

Posted by: Aneta Geistova

One Comment Add yours

  1. I was pretty pleased to come across this web-site.I wanted to thanks for your time for this terrific read!! I surely enjoying every single little bit of it and I have you bookmarked to check out new stuff you blog post.
    cheap jordan shoes http://swisswatchsihr.bloguez.com/swisswatchsihr/5937773/Methods_to_Obtain_Real_Puma_Suede_Footwear_For_a_Fair_Cost

Leave a Reply

