PhD Student Series #3 – Cigdem Gedikli

My name is Cigdem and I am a third year PhD student in Norwich Business School.  I have recently presented a poster which got the best poster award during the “Joint Doctoral Colloquium of Norwich Business School and the Performance Management Special Interest Group”.

Cigdem GedikliMy research areas are in labour, gender and development economics. In my PhD thesis, I am aiming to explore the gender inequalities in the labour market in Turkey in the context of lower labour force participation rates of women compared to men, wage differentials and occupational gender segregation.

The poster that I have presented during the colloquium was based on a chapter from my thesis where I examine the role of traditional or conservative social norms and culture on women`s employment in Turkey. NBS doctoral colloquium offered a great opportunity to discuss my work and receive a valuable feedback from my colleagues as well as from the experts in my field. Many thanks for this opportunity and also for the best poster award!

Posted by: Bradley Cronk

Leave a Reply

