Bradley – “Since undertaking UEA’s internship programme I have become a confident and enthused marketer”

on

I had the privilege of studying BSc (Hons) Business and Management with the 2010-2013 cohort at Norwich Business School. Graduating in 2013 with a First Class degree from a top 14 UK university is one of my proudest achievements to date. However, when I began my course in September 2010 I must admit that I had very little idea on where my degree would take me and, indeed, where I wanted it to take me.

My experience makes for a great case study on what not to do in regard to finding employment. I completely neglected looking for a job and even really thinking about my career; concentrating on the academic and social aspects of university life instead. However, by July 2013 when I graduated it seemed that focusing on my studies had paid off so I took the day off of work to attend my graduation ceremony. That’s right; I had found relevant employment through UEA’s internship programme just a few weeks after finishing my exams.

It was during my first few months of employment as a Business Development executive at a Norfolk based market research agency that I really began to consider my career aspirations. Evidently, I decided upon a relatively particular career path, I wanted to work in the marketing industry and within the higher education sector. This decision inspired my application to work as a Graduate Social Media and Marketing Assistant at Norwich Business School. The six months I spent a NBS proved to be great experience for the career direction that I wanted to take. I was able to develop my experience in:

  • Delivering website, marketing and social media activity
  • Creating a brochure and producing print advertisements
  • Conducting competitor analysis
  • Liaising with an external supplier for the creation of leaflets, banners and brochures
  • Contributing to the co-ordination of the Graduate Trainee Management Scheme
  • Contributing to the development on NBS marketing strategy

Since undertaking UEA’s internship programme I have become a confident and enthused marketer, I have developed some professional qualities and a variety of practical marketing experience. One year on from graduation I am working as a Marketing Officer for a leading research-intensive university in the UK, I am coming to the end of my CIM diploma and begin a part-time master’s degree in September while also pursuing Chartered Marketer status.

Leave a Reply

