My NBS MBA experience so far – By Jennie Starling

In the latest of our blogs, we catch up with Jennie Starling, Full Time MBA Student, to hear about her experiences studying for an MBA at Norwich Business School.

About MeJS

Hi, my name is Jennie and I’m one of the students on the full-time MBA here at UEA. I’m the most local of the group as I’m from Norwich! I did my undergraduate degree in Biomedicine at the UEA about 10 years ago and have spent the last eight years working locally in the NHS.

Why an MBA?

As a Senior Manager, the next step in my career needed a qualification at Masters Level. I chose to do an MBA because it takes into account experience of working and is not purely academic. I decided to take a break from work for a year to do the full-time course as it allows me to focus all my attention on my studies.

The Story So Far

We’re about half-way through the course and have covered a wide range of interesting topics over the last six months. The lecturers are all very passionate about their subjects, with the academic theories linked to practical application through guest speakers and visits to businesses. We’ve just got back from a residential trip to London where we went to organisations including Arsenal Football Club, Aviva, Corinthia Hotel, Sipsmith and The Shard, with the opportunity to talk to their senior management teams about how things work behind the scenes. We’ve also recently completed our first consultancy project, which was a great opportunity to apply what we’ve learned and make a difference to a real business.

For me the highlight has been the other people on the course, we have a great mix from a range of countries and different backgrounds. The course is very intense and it’s often the relationship you have with each other that helps you keep going. We all work incredibly hard, but have a lot of fun together too.

What’s Next?

I’m keeping my options and using this year away from my career to consider my options. The MBA is giving me the confidence to branch out into other industries and the support available through the Career Impact Programme is useful in deciding what I want to do next. I know that whatever I choose, my MBA will be an important part of helping me get there.

Want to find out more about our CMI and AMBA accredited MBA programme? Visit https://www.uea.ac.uk/norwich-business-school/mba-programme or email us at mbateam@uea.ac.uk

With many thanks to Jennie for contributing to the NBS blog.

Leave a Reply

