MBA Alumni — Darren Elsom

Update on the MBA and Apprenticeship Levy

The Apprenticeship Levy was launched by the Government in April 2017. Any employer with a payroll of over £3 million each year pays 0.5% this into a Levy Fund, with the Government applying a 5% top-up to this digital account. This money can be used to pay the tuition costs for programmes such as the new Senior Leaders Apprenticeship offered by UEA from September 2021.  Apprentices on the UEA programme continue to work full-time whilst studying part-time and will be awarded a postgraduate Diploma in Strategic Leadership upon the successful completion of their studies. Those achieving the Diploma will be offered the opportunity to top-up their learning with a short further course of study to be awarded the MBA.

MBA Graduate Story – Darren Elsom

I have spent my entire career in the gas industry, initially joining British Gas on a technical apprenticeship programme 28 years ago. The majority of my career has been in operational and engineering roles and as I have moved into more senior roles, I was very conscious that I needed to develop my business knowledge.

When I started the Executive MBA programme I was Head of Operations for the high pressure gas system in Cadent Gas Ltd, who distribute gas across the East of England, North London, West Midlands and the North West.

I was drawn to the UEA Executive MBA programme as I wanted to broaden my knowledge through shared experiences with people outside the gas industry and the consulting element really appealed to me as I was very keen to apply my learning to real business problems.

When I joined the programme it was somewhat daunting as it had been over 15 years since I was last in an academic environment. I was also conscious of the workload and time commitment as I’m married with 3 children and I was running a busy division with 650 employees.

After completing the induction day, the first module was marketing and I found myself researching the tractor market, which was a big change from gas pipelines! Getting the first module under my belt was a great feeling and it gave me the confidence to tackle the next module.

As I write this it’s only been a few weeks since I submitted my final assignment, so I’m currently enjoying my weekends again! I feel extremely proud to have completed the MBA and I have learnt so much more than I expected. I’m really looking forward to the graduation ceremony, which will also be a great opportunity to catch-up with my cohort.

I will truly miss spending time with my cohort. I have developed some great relationships and I’m looking forward to the next time that we can catch-up socially.  I also think that I will start to miss the structured learning the programme provides. However, one of the final modules helps to consolidate the MBA learning through a reflective assignment, which culminates in a structured development plan that I am now working to.

I have recently been appointed as the Director of East of England, with accountability for the safe transportation of gas to more than 4 million households and commercial customers across East Anglia and East Midlands. This involves running a gas distribution network with circa 3000 people and an annual budget in excess of £350million. I know that the knowledge I have gained on the MBA programme supported me in gaining this new position and I am already putting what I have learnt into practice.

Leave a comment