Opportunity did not knock until the Norwich Business School provided the door!

Hi! I’m Felicia Krelwitz and I am a Full-Time MBA student at Norwich Business School (NBS), University of East Anglia (UEA). I’m a mature student who decided to make a career change after being a teacher and past business owner. It is hard to believe almost a year has passed and I will soon have my MBA!

When I first walked onto the UEA campus, I was nervous, worried that I might be too old and unsure if I was doing the right thing. I left behind my family, friends and everything comfortable and took a chance on this great program at a well-known university. I can honestly say this has been one of the most rewarding decisions I have made, and I am so glad I came! I am eternally grateful that the NBS took a chance on me because I know it has changed my life. I have written more, learned more and learned differently than I did at my other universities.

My expectations were high especially after my phone interview with NBS. And this program delivers. I am excited and feel like attending UEA is the first step to a successful career. The MBA program at UEA is unique because it is more than just listening and attending lectures. You immerse yourself in the modules with hands-on learning and the consultancy project experience are what sets the UEA apart from other universities. Additionally, the NBS welcomes input from their current students and the program is dynamic because it is constantly changing and being reshaped from our suggestions.

Your cohort will become the sounding board you go to and the people who will help you. The experiences each one of us bring to the program is unique and so important. Admittedly, I felt like I had the least experience in the business world compared to the other 16 people in our cohort. I owned my own business for seven years, but my background was primarily as a teacher. I came into the program with a Master’s in Environmental Biology and a Bachelors in both Arts and Science but somehow did not feel I was as accomplished! This program has given me confidence to realize that I am a valuable member in our program, and we all have unique perspectives.

I learned early on that there was method to the things that Andrew Vassallo, our full time MBA Program director asked us to do. As a former teacher, giving up control was hard for me to do! But every time things have gotten difficult or I’ve wondered ‘why’, Andy has always explained after that it is to make us stronger and the best candidates in the business world.

So, why the University of East Anglia? One of the biggest reasons I chose UEA was because of their residential program, consultancy projects and the dual certification for Level 7 Diploma in Professional Consulting from the Chartered Management Institute. This program is unique in that it is for a year only and because of the businesses they bring in to give you that consultancy experience. Is it easy? No, but is anything worthwhile in life easy? It will be hard work and you might question why (and if you are like me, you might question this a lot), but I will say it is the most rewarding thing I have done for myself.

If you’ve been thinking of going for an MBA, I would say that the UEA has the best program around. I’ve gained so much practical knowledge from the consultancy projects and working with actual businesses to solve their issues has been the most rewarding work. If Norwich Business School had not provided me a door to this amazing opportunity, I would have missed out an amazing experience. This program has taken my best qualities and shaped me into a confident, business professional ready for the future.
Perhaps opportunity is knocking for you as well?

by Felicia Krelwitz

Leave a comment